Tuesday, June 18, 2013

John Prine's "The Missing Years" on Vinyl

Although long-admired by his peers as an innovative songwriter, it was not until John Prine's tenth studio album, The Missing Years, that he earned one of music's highest honors. Deemed "Best Contemporary Folk Album" at the 1992 Grammy Awards, The Missing Years showed Prine's magic typewriter had not lost its touch.

On July 9, this fantastic album will be available for the first time on vinyl. This 180-gram, two-LP set comes with a digital download card and contains all the original artwork, as well as additional photos and era artifacts across the jacket's dual gatefold. This special edition also features the previously unreleased track, "The Third Of July," which was originally recorded for the album. Listen to this brand new track here and stream the original album on Spotify.

Produced by the late Howie Epstein, best known as member of Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers, Prine's album vocal and trademark acoustic guitar never sounded so crisp. "On this record," John Prine recalls, "we worked ten to twelve hours a day. We were able to spend a great deal of time on vocals." Prine continues, "It was all built around my acoustic guitar. Howie just did such a darn good job. He's a real nitpicker."

This two-LP set is being pressed in limited quantities and is now available for pre-order in advance of the July 9 release date via John Prine's official online store. Digital downloads of this bonus track version will be available at all online music retailers on July 9, with the vinyl also arriving at your local record store on that day.

Side A:

1. Picture Show
2. All The Best
3. The Sins Of Memphisto
4. Everybody Wants To Feel Like You

Side B:
1. It's A Big Old Goofy World
2. I Want To Be With You Always
3. Daddy's Little Pumpkin
4. Take A Look At My Heart

Side C:
1. Great Rain
2. Way Back Then
3. Unlonely
4. You Got Gold

Side D:

1. Everything Is Cool
2. Jesus The Missing Years
3. The Third Of July (Previously Unreleased)