Thursday, April 22, 2010

Great John Prine Portland, Oregon Concert Review

Read all about the fabulous John Prine concert from this past Friday, April 16 at the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall in Portland, Oregon. The newspaper The Oregonian was there to cover the show. Read it here.

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

John Prine A Role Model For Jakob Dylan

Jakob Dylan called John Prine one of his songwriting role models in a recent interview with USA Today. Dylan says, "He found a singular voice, and nobody can replicate it. I would hope to have that down the line. Prine was born with something special, but he also dug deep."

Read the entire interview here.

Friday, April 09, 2010

Popular Artists Celebrate John Prine With New CD

Today’s avant-roots renaissance owes a great debt to John Prine’s laconic, ever-questioning poetic quality – a debt that is warmly repaid by Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows: Songs of John Prine, available June 22nd on Oh Boy Records.

Featuring twelve newly-recorded versions of classic Prine songs, Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows boasts an enviable roll call of lauded, inventive musicians and songwriters, including My Morning Jacket, The Avett Brothers, Conor Oberst And The Mystic Valley Band, Old Crow Medicine Show, Lambchop, Josh Ritter, the Drive-By Truckers, Nickel Creek’s Sara Watkins, Deer Tick featuring Liz Isenburg, Justin Townes Earle, Those Darlins and Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon. That Prine’s perspective flourishes so vividly in these modern recastings is testament to not only the sheer power of his songs, but to the subtly defiant undercurrent that runs throughout Prine’s oeuvre.

Here is the complete tracklisting:
1) Justin Vernon of Bon Iver – “Bruised Orange (Chain of Sorrow)”
2) Conor Oberst And The Mystic Valley Band – “Wedding Day In Funeralville”
3) My Morning Jacket – “All The Best”
4) Josh Ritter – “Mexican Home”
5) Lambchop – “Six O’Clock News”
6) Justin Townes Earle – “Far From Me”
7) The Avett Brothers – “Spanish Pipedream”
8) Old Crow Medicine Show – “Angel From Montgomery”
9) Sara Watkins – “The Late John Garfield Blues”
10) Drive-By Truckers – “Daddy’s Little Pumpkin”
11) Deer Tick featuring Liz Isenberg – “Unwed Fathers”
12) Those Darlins – “Let’s Talk Dirty In Hawaiian”

New John Prine Live Album "In Person & On Stage"

Oh Boy Records will release a new live record from John Prine entitled "In Person & On Stage" on May 25.

The album is a culmination of his last few years touring and contains 14 songs, perfectly balanced between classic hits and new treasures from the Grammy Award-winning “Fair & Square.” Complete with duets from some of John’s favorite touring partners such as Iris DeMent, Sara Watkins, Emmylou Harris, Josh Ritter, Kane Welch Kaplan, this album shows Prine’s passion and relevance still hold true after all these years. These recordings were hand-picked from hundreds of recent concerts, and the result is Prine’s most memorable live album to date. If his biggest fans had a collective voice, it is no doubt these would be the recordings they'd choose.

Visit for a free download of the song "She Is My Everything" and preview the new live album.

Here is the tracklisting:
1. Spanish Pipedream
2. She Is My Everything
3. In Spite Of Ourselves (with Iris DeMent)
4. Long Monday
5. The Late John Garfield Blues (with Sara Watkins)
6. The Bottomless Lake
7. Bear Creek Blues
8. Saddle In The Rain
9. Angel From Montgomery (with Emmylou Harris)
10. Your Flag Decal Won’t Get You Into Heaven Anymore
11. Mexican Home (with Josh Ritter)
12. Unwed Fathers (with Iris DeMent)
13. Glory Of True Love
14. Paradise (with Kane Welch Kaplin)

Thursday, April 01, 2010

Announcement: John Prine Performance In Memphis (June 5, 2010)

For people purchasing tickets for John Prine’s June 5th, 2010 performance in Memphis, TN at the Cannon Center for the Performing Arts performance through 3rd Party ticket resellers, Old Crow Medicine Show WILL NOT be performing. The supporting act for this date will be announced shortly but again, it WILL NOT be Old Crow Medicine Show.

Thank you,
Oh Boy Records

From The Archives - No Depression 2005 Prine Article

We were going through our archives and found this wonderful May 2005 article from No Depression magazine about John Prine, his life and his album Fair & Square. The article is a great read and not one to be missed. Enjoy it here.