Friday, April 09, 2010

Popular Artists Celebrate John Prine With New CD

Today’s avant-roots renaissance owes a great debt to John Prine’s laconic, ever-questioning poetic quality – a debt that is warmly repaid by Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows: Songs of John Prine, available June 22nd on Oh Boy Records.

Featuring twelve newly-recorded versions of classic Prine songs, Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows boasts an enviable roll call of lauded, inventive musicians and songwriters, including My Morning Jacket, The Avett Brothers, Conor Oberst And The Mystic Valley Band, Old Crow Medicine Show, Lambchop, Josh Ritter, the Drive-By Truckers, Nickel Creek’s Sara Watkins, Deer Tick featuring Liz Isenburg, Justin Townes Earle, Those Darlins and Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon. That Prine’s perspective flourishes so vividly in these modern recastings is testament to not only the sheer power of his songs, but to the subtly defiant undercurrent that runs throughout Prine’s oeuvre.

Here is the complete tracklisting:
1) Justin Vernon of Bon Iver – “Bruised Orange (Chain of Sorrow)”
2) Conor Oberst And The Mystic Valley Band – “Wedding Day In Funeralville”
3) My Morning Jacket – “All The Best”
4) Josh Ritter – “Mexican Home”
5) Lambchop – “Six O’Clock News”
6) Justin Townes Earle – “Far From Me”
7) The Avett Brothers – “Spanish Pipedream”
8) Old Crow Medicine Show – “Angel From Montgomery”
9) Sara Watkins – “The Late John Garfield Blues”
10) Drive-By Truckers – “Daddy’s Little Pumpkin”
11) Deer Tick featuring Liz Isenberg – “Unwed Fathers”
12) Those Darlins – “Let’s Talk Dirty In Hawaiian”